Scott Crothers – Quarter-tone Piano Prelude #1 (2008)

The Crothers’ Collection of Preludes for Quarter-tone Piano(s) currently number 12 Pieces. They may be purchased through PayPal from the download page of this web site. There are Samples from each Prelude that may be previewed before purchase. The Pieces were all composed by Scott Crothers using MOTU’s Digital Performer Notation Editor and their performance rendered by MOTU’s Symphonic Instrument plugin. _Quarter-tone Piano music has previously been composed by such notable musical figures as Charles Ives, Alois Hába and Ivan Wyschnegradsky. Although Quarter-tone Pianos have been constructed over the last hundred years, they are rather scarce and expensive. Live performance of Quarter-tone Piano Music is normally accomplished by two Pianists. One plays a Piano tuned normally while the other Pianist plays a Piano tuned a Quarter-tone sharp.

[via Peter Bengtson on Google+]

Charles Ives – String Quartet No. 1

Charles Ives (1874-1954)
String Quartet No.1 “From the Salvation Army” (c. 1897-1900)

I. Chorale
II. Prelude
III. Offertory
IV. Postlude

Concord String Quartet:
Mark Sokol, violin
Andrew Jennings, violin
John Kochanowski, viola
Norman Fischer, cello

The First String Quartet (c. 1897-1900) was Charlies Ives‘ first composition of extended length, written under the supervision of Horatio Parker at Yale University. Subtitled “A Revival Service,” the piece quotes traditional hymns of the United States and reveals Ives’ early polytonal experimentation. The first movement is a fugue based on the hymn “From Greenland’s Icy Mountains”; Ives felt so strongly about the movement that he later rescored it for the third movement of his Fourth Symphony. The next two movements are each shaped in three-part form: the second is dance-like, the third slower but with a more active, pizzicato middle section. The opening theme of the last movement is closely related to the hymn “Stand Up, Stand Up for Jesus”; this contrasts with recapitulated material from the second movement and is followed by a final combination of the two sections in simultaneous duple and triple meters.