Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 3 in D Minor (1896)


The Symphony No. 3 by Gustav Mahler was written in 1896, or possibly only completed in that year, but composed between 1893 and 1896. It is his longest piece and is the longest symphony in the standard repertoire, with a typical performance lasting around 90 to 105 minutes. It was voted the tenth-greatest symphony of all time in a survey of conductors carried out by the BBC Music Magazine.

The Wiener Philharmonic conducted by Leonard Beinstein:

The New York Philarmonic conducted by Leonard Bernstein:

Performed tonight at the Osterfestspiele in Salzburg by Staatskapelle Dresden conducted by Christian Thielemann.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: